April 13, 2012

Climbed out of Fontana Dam today and am at Birch Spring Gap camping area; am officially in the Smokies now. 4.5 miles uphill, gained 2000 feet. Wasn’t that bad although I was concerned about my right knee feeling tender. Gorgeous weather and a good day for hiking. Came across a deer on the trail today, she seemed unbothered by my presence. A couple of guys here saw a mama bear and cub this afternoon. I love the Smokies, when I lived in Chicago and West Virginia, I would come here often on camping vacations. My friend Karen and I would come here and camp. Very happy memories. My tent is up, I ate one of Nash’s fabulous meals and I’m gonna sit here and watch the sun go down over the mountain. Life is good.

Categories: Appalachian Trail hike | Tags: | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “April 13, 2012

  1. Glad you are feeling better today Tamara. Do you have any videos or pics that can be used on the articles for the national column on Examiner? Just send me to the links and I will do the rest. Here is the latest. Don’t quit! http://www.examiner.com/appalachian-trail-hiking-in-national/hiking-for-the-homeless-where-is-tamara-now

  2. Tina

    Tamera – you are inspiring – I relish vicariously being on your adventure thru your postings! Tina

  3. 1970love

    I am glad life is good.I have been praying that you chose to do everything wizely.I am glad your in the smokies now.It must be wonderful I have never been,camping and I do not waltz together well.It makes my heart glad that you have happy memories with your dear friend..My soul feels sunny because you liked the wee bit of food I did for you. I support you 110 percent.Nameste.Kiss the trees and wildflowers for me.Sleep with angels.Today I chose to live in peace.Love and loyalty and everything else me.
    ,

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

