April 28, 2012

I’m camped at a site about three miles from the next shelter. I’m the only one here and it’s nice to be away from the shelter crowds. If all goes well, I should be in Erwin on Tuesday. It was a good day of hiking, I hiked 11 miles and felt strong. I seem to have finally found a pace that works for me on the uphills. There were lots of surprises today. This morning I walked across a huge bald on the mountain. It was beautiful. Lots of berry bushes, but they’re not in season yet. Also passed a beautiful cascade running down the side of a hill. The amount of water here is refreshing and I appreciate it much more after living in Arizona.

image

Categories: Appalachian Trail hike | Tags: | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “April 28, 2012

  1. Jean Toner

    Appreciate the continuing posts,Tamera! We miss you! All your NC reporting takes me back to OBX days – lots of rain and humidity. Boy howdy, though, does the skin love it!! hugs! j

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

