April 29, 2012

Great day of hiking, did 10 miles and am camped in a beautiful spot. Tent is set up, supper cooked and ate, and cleanup finished. Mostly uphill today, but still beautiful. Got some trail magic today. At Sam’s Gap there’s a store that supports hikers 3.3 miles down the road. I started walking there and a man and his wife picked me up and let me ride in the back of their pickup. He took me to the store and waited for me to finish, and took me back to the trailhead. He gave me his card and told me to call him if I need any rides getting around Erwin. I asked him if there was a Walmart there and he said yes, about six miles from Uncle Johnny’s hostel where I’ll be staying. He offered to take me or have his dad take me. His father section-hiked the entire trail over the course of 20 years, just finishing last year. I’ll be able to get a prescription filled that I need, so I’m happy. Also met this couple who were hiking that filled up everyone’s water bottles from their RV. It was super warm today and not a cloud in the sky. A great day. I’ve hiked over 300 miles now, which just amazes me when I think about it. I am so blessed.

Categories: Appalachian Trail hike | Tags: | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “April 29, 2012

  1. 1970love

    I AM SO GLAD THAT YOU GOT SOME TRAIL MAGIC and I AM VERY PROUD OF YOU wow 300 miles YOU ROCK.Nameste.Kiss the trees and wildflowers for me.Sleep with angels.Love and loyalty and everything else me.PLEASE BE SAFE.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

