May 6, 2012

Woke up today and it was bright and sunny, a good day for climbing Roan Mountain. 7.2 miles to the summit from where I was. The mountain kicked my butt. It took me 6 hours to climb up and when I got there it was raining. I stopped in the shelter at the top of the mountain, and then continued on. Ended up doing 12 miles. I’m in my tent right now and it’s drizzling outside. Will be good sleeping weather. Tomorrow is a new day and hopefully the rain will stop. Experienced some nice trail magic today. Walked to Carver Gap chatting with a day-hiker and when he got to his car, he gave me some snacks and soda. It’s amazing the generosity of people here.

Categories: Appalachian Trail hike | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

