May 8, 2012

As I noted in my last post, I spent last night at Mountain Harbor Hostel. Last night at midnight, it started to rain, and rained straight through until this morning. During the night, two of the horses from the hostel got into the area where the tenters were and began grazing. At 2 am, one of the horses who was grazing near my tent, pulled my tent stake out, and down came my tent. When I got out of my tent to set it back up, the horse just looked at me, and kept on eating. At 4 am, two cats were engaged in a love fest for about half an hour. When I got up at 7, the hostel owner had prepared a delicious breakfast for everyone. I left the hostel at 12:30 pm and hiked 9 miles to Mountaineer Shelter. It rained most of the day and the trail was a skating rink with mud. The shelter is near Mountaineer Falls which look like this:

image

image

A good day, but I hope the weather clears soon, it’s been raining a lot. When I hiked by the Elk River today, it was very swollen and running fast.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

