May 24, 2012

Hiked 11 miles today and am in Troutdale at the hostel provided by the Baptist Church. My original intention was to go to Trimpi Shelter, which is 15 miles away, but it started to rain again this afternoon. Pandora, Brownie Brittle and myself are the only ones here. Showered and did some laundry in the shower. Shower laundry is a new trick I’ve learned as a way to keep clothes reasonable in between laundromats. Basically, you take all your clothes off and put them on the floor of the shower. While you’re showering, you stomp on the clothes, pushing all the dirt out. You do this until no more dirt comes out. Then you wring the clothes out and hang them on the line. We’re currently sitting on the porch, watching the storm clouds pass over, having a nice relaxing evening. There’s no grocery or restaurant in this town, so we ate what’s in our food bags. We were laughing because the porch has several places to sit on it, and we were all sitting on the ground. Women gone feral, we’ve forgotten how to use chairs.

Categories: Appalachian Trail hike | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “May 24, 2012

  1. Marina Sinyard

    Very neat following you-I’ve hiked the AT where you are now-loved Trimpi Shelter and the black snake we found in it. Take care!

  2. Virginia Lane

    Hi Shrink…I’m glad the 3 of you are still together. It’s good to have someone to talk to. I’ve done that shower trick before only left the wet clothes on my hot body. Helped to cool me off.
    Brownie never sent a text to tell me what exciting happened. Dying to know! I’ve missed the trail since being home from Damascus. I’ve given some thought about meeting you guys somewhere in VA. We’re getting ready to go to IL to visit our daughter and family so will think about it some more. I’ll check back soon to see how you’re doing…Winkle

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

